Skip to content

UVCA 2022 Annual Awards Presented

UVCA 2022 Annual Awards Presented

Unified VCA President Dr. Michelle Rose presented several awards in conjunction with the organization’s Fall Convention at the Arlington Renaissance Capital View, Arlington, Virginia, September 30 – October 2.


At the Friday Profession Updates session, Dr. Rose presented two annual literary awards and a Presidential Merit award.


The John Stoke AwardDr. Daniel Shaye

The John Stoke Award recognizes a Virginia DC who has had an article published for lay consumption or professional consumption by Doctors of Chiropractic. This year’s award goes to Dr. Daniel A. Shaye, Performance Chiropractic, Williamsburg, Virginia, for his article in Chiropractic Economics entitled “How Developing Your ‘Soft Skills’ and Chiropractic Business Systems Go Hand in Hand.”


Special Literary AwardDr. James Munse

James A. Munse, DC, DACNB, MA was recognized for his superb ongoing contributions to the UVCA’s quarterly publication, The Virginia Voice. Dr. Munse has researched and written an original, well-referenced, clinical article for nearly every issue of The Virginia Voice since the Winter 2018 issue.  That is 15 consecutive issues! Topics have ranged from the Identification & Patient Management of Tremors to Clinical Applications of the Cerebellum: Interactive Metronome.


Presidential Merit AwardDr. Stephen Hussey

Dr. Rose observed, “As President, one of my favorite privileges is to recognize people that I feel have gone above and beyond to support chiropractic in Virginia. In that capacity, I’d like to recognize Stephen Hussey, MS, DC.”

Earlier this year Dr. Hussey’s first book was published, Understanding the Heart. His book is an exploration of the heart, the origins of heart disease, and what we should pay attention to in order to prevent heart disease. Dr. Rose explains, “His book has been receiving great reviews, but that’s not the only reason I want to recognize Dr. Hussey. Dr. Hussey has volunteered his time to present this important body of knowledge to his colleagues, patients, and the public through UVCA District Connections, community events, and other forums this past year. We applaud Dr. Hussey’s literary talents and his efforts to support positive chiropractic PR.”


At the Saturday General Membership Meeting, Dr. Rose presented three additional awards.


Supporting Supplier of the Year -- Chiro1Source

Chiro1Source’s mission is to offer the chiropractic profession the best source for all its supply needs through E3 - Exquisitely Enjoyable Experience.

Chiropractor Dr. Cecil Walker started Chiro1Source in 2001. When his son, Josh Walker, took over the company as president several years ago, he continued the commitment to assist DCs and their practice in making ordering supplies easy so they can devote their attention to their patients’ needs. Raised by two chiropractors as parents, he has an innate understanding of what chiropractic practices need.

Chiro1Source is always there with support for the UVCA. The company regularly upgrades its convention participation to sponsor convention functions, Premier DC gifts like keynote speaker books and ice packs, regional meetings, and member-get-a-member campaigns. C1S often donates items for the UVCA’s spring silent auction and fall legal/legislative fund prize raffle. It has even provided standing mats for UVCA staff to use at conventions.


District Director of the Year -- Christine L. Fallwell, DC

Christine Fallwell, DC, has been involved with the healing arts for 25 years, starting with massage therapy. She and her daughter attended Life University in Marietta, Georgia and graduated together in 2000. She has been practicing light-force chiropractic care in Virginia Beach ever since and maintains Advanced Certification with Activator Technique. She is well known for her unique combination of slightly warped sense of humor and profound empathy for others.

Dr. Fallwell has only been on the UVCA board of directors since Fall 2021, when she replaced Dr. Carly Swift as Director of District 5 as Dr. Swift moved up to Board Secretary – but already Dr. Fallwell has had a significant impact. For example, she has set up several District Connections regional meetings, from dinners to golf outings to CEU presentations on laser therapy, and she helped set up a groundbreaking meeting with John Littel, the new Virginia Secretary of Health and Human Services.


Chiropractor of the Year -- Vincent T. Joseph, DC

Dr. Vincent Joseph is the founder and owner of Rebound Chiropractic & Acupuncture in Newport News, VA. He received his chiropractic degree from Northwestern University of Health Sciences, has a BS in General Biology, and is certified/licensed in minor surgery, acupuncture, chiropractic sports medicine, MUA, and veterinary chiropractic.

Dr. Joseph has served as a chiropractic specialist on WAVY TV-10’s Expert on Your Side for over 15 years and has hosted several radio shows. He has been elected to public office numerous times, including to the Newport News City Council, Christopher Newport University Board of Directors, Hampton Roads Planning Commission/Youth Services, Virginia Living Museum, and others. His list of volunteer work is extensive and includes Chiropractor for Christopher Newport University Football and other teams, Board member for Orphan Helpers’ Humanitarian Mission to Honduras, and President of the Peninsula Fine Arts Center. He has taught biology and oriental medicine at the college level. Dr. Joseph also has held a direct relationship since 2017 with Bon Secours Mercy Health of Hampton Roads hospital group. He was recently elected Chairman for the Board of Directors and serves as Chairperson for the Quality Medical Affairs Committee.

Dr. Rose observes, “Throughout all the work he does and all the relationships he has cultivated, a couple of things have remained constant and clear: Dr. Joseph’s integrity and profound commitment to helping others. Dr. Joseph has never been one to do anything for notoriety. He serves others quietly, thoughtfully, and meaningfully. He is receiving this award to recognize his generous leadership and enduring positive impact in so many arenas – including currently at Mercy Bon Secours-Hampton Roads.”


Hugh Hill of HF Hill & Associates was also recognized for his many years of service to the chiropractic profession in Virginia and was extended well wishes by all as he retires.


Nominations for all awards are solicited from the membership. All except the Chiropractor of the Year are selected by the Awards Committee chaired by Dr. Kevin Walsh, based on nominations received. Chiropractor of the Year is selected by the three preceding recipients, also factoring in member nominations. The President also has the privilege of providing additional recognition.


Please join the Unified VCA leadership in thanking all the above for their service to the profession and support of the association. We are grateful!

Powered By GrowthZone